Tags

, ,

A month back, CANSTOP, had organized a “cancer awareness” walk. In the marina which also had the support of the local T-20 cricket team, Chennai Superkings. I was scheduled to take part but other priorities took over.

Now, I come from a family, where recently, two matriarch’s of the family were diagnosed with breast cancer. One was benign and the other was malignant. My aunt, let us call her Mrs. R, was diabetic. Though under control, she has been a pill eater for diabetes for the past 20 years. She had to under chemo-therapy but I cannot imagine the pain she would have had to endure. Luckily for them and us for that matter, treatment at a top-notch hospital is a given. No costs were spared.

Now, aunt #2 and the one with the benign tumor is young. In her early forties, she is also an educator. She is currently the vice-principal in a private school. The lump was removed and she has recovered fully.

So, having experienced the effect cancer has and the amount of research that still needs to be done to find a cure total cure is an uphill task. Our family was able to afford the costs involved in getting quality care. But what about those who cannot afford it? There are a few charitable institutions that do provide care for those who cannot afford it. I am referring to the Cancer Institute in Guindy, Chennai. However they face a large shortage for providing convalescence care.

In comes, Sri Mathaji Trust. The details of this place can be viewed by clicking here. They are a charitable institution and run purely on donations given by people like us. In the spirit of humanity, I have a proposal. Why don’t we, raise whatever amount we can and then donate it to them?

Here is what I have in mind. A sum of Rs. 100 would not be a big deal. We are indeed a large population. I am pretty sure that each one of you can raise at least a Rs.1000. Hopefully you can raise more than that. So do what you can and raise whatever amount you can by December 22. If it goes viral, which I greatly hope it will, just by word of mouth, we can provide a much needed contribution to those who sorely need it. I will post details of how to reach the amount to me (paypal? bank transfer? still not decided) electronically.

If you have any suggestions do let me know.

 

Update:

A small note. The idea is to provide them with a large contribution rather than small individual ones. You can of course contribute individually too. I am mostly reaching out to the twitterville for getting the message across.